The Big SWITCHOVER

Last week, I FINALLY did the big switch (or as some would say, I jumped ship) from Canon to Nikon. Some might ask why I did this, so I wanted to make it public on here for others to chime in their two cents. But first, let me tell you what all I traded from and what all I went to, as well as plan on purchasing.

My Canon Body setup included a 20D, 30D, and 5D (which was obviously my main camera). The lenses I owned were the Canon 16-35 f2.8 II L, 24-70 f2.8 L, 24-105 f4 IS L, 70-200 2.8 IS L, 17-85 3.5-5.6 EF-S IS (one of the sharpest lenses I had), 28 1.8 EF, 50 1.4 EF, and 85 1.8 EF. So you can say I had a lot invested into Canon. As far as the flashes, I traded in a 550ex and a 580ex. But I was never really a fan of Canon’s flash system (one of the MANY reasons I jumped ship, but I will not go into details about that, but trust me, Nikon Speedlights are AMAZING).

Now here is what I purchased. I picked up a Nikon D700 (which is the camera that I feel is the BEST Digital Camera for the money, as far as full frame cameras are concerned). The lenses I purchased were the 14-24 2.8 ED Nanocrystal Coating, the 70-200 2.8 VR I, the 85 1.8 D, and the Tamron 28-75 2.8 (more on that later). The flashes I purchased were the SB-600 and the SB-900.

The lenses I plan on getting at some point in the near future are the 16-35 f4 VR ED Nano, the 24-70 2.8 ED Nano, and the 70-200 2.8 vr II nano. Plus there are some rumored lenses which sound great such as a mid-range zoom with VR and a constant f4 aperture. Now I know people might be asking why own two different mid-range 2.8 lenses (the tamron and the nikon), and the reason is that both are SPECTACULAR! The Nikon is $1850 and the Tamron is $509. So, I couldnt afford the Nikon just yet, but since it performed as well as the Nikon, it would have been silly not to go with it and instead use that money to pick up the 14-24. Eventually I will still get the Nikon 24-70 2.8 because I could use the Tamron as a backup lens or as a lens to let another photographer use on a joint shoot.

As far as the reason why I would own two sets of lenses like the 14-24 2.8 and the 16-35 4 vr, that would be because when I need to shoot at 2.8, I will use the 14-24 for wide angle shots, but when I need to shoot at f5.6 or higher, I will use the 16-35 because of the better range and the vr capabilities. I plan on doing the same thing if Nikon makes a 25-120 f4 vr lens. I am crossing my fingers that there will be a 24-120 vr bc the 24-105 f4 is Canon lens was one of my favorite walk around lenses.

So now, here are the reasons why I jumped ship. I strongly believe that Nikon’s lenses are better than Canon’s lenses. They tend to distort less, meter better, and they seem to be sharper. I also really love the feel of Nikon camera and I love their ability to shoot so well in very low light. Nikon’s low noise at higher ISO is definitely better than Canon’s noise. Plus, Nikon’s autofocus on their D700 kicks the butt of Canon’s 5D Mk II.

Now I know Canon is by far and away the better choice for video on a DSLR, but I think Nikon will eventually be up there as a contender in the HD Video DSLR world, and I even think this will happen either this year or early next. So only time will tell.

Either way I am excited to be on Team Nikon. I had been talking about switching for some time now, and I couldn’t be happier that I did.

Leave a Reply

